Tourists Highly Benefit from India's Visa on Arrival Scheme

Tourists Highly Benefit from India’s Visa on Arrival Scheme

The Indian government launched the VoA scheme in January 2010, initially for the citizens of five countries – Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore. But this was later expanded to six more countries – Cambodia, Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines, Laos and Myanmar. India saw a dramatic growth in the number of tourists taking advantage of its visa-on-arrival (VoA) scheme in June 2014. Taking hold of this report, the government of India has now extended the list of countries to avail the VOA scheme at 9 international airports across the country.

On 27 November 2014 the Electronic Travel Authorization facility became operational for citizens of over 40 eligible countries, including those who are eligible for visa on arrival to India. ETA is issued for tourism, visiting friends and family, short duration medical treatment and business visits.

This single-entry tourist visa is valid for 30 days, and a traveler may apply twice in a year. Business visas are not covered in the current phase of the scheme, but might be included at a later date. The visa on arrival will cost $60 and you should have a return ticket as well as enough money to spend during your stay in India.

You need a passport with minimum 6 months validity and a photograph to submit online along their application form & the fees and wait till you receive the Electronic Travel Authorization. ETA holders do not have to wait at visa on arrival counters at the airport but may proceed straight to immigration counters. 

Here’s a full list of eligible countries including 11 that were already able to get visa on arrival: Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Read more about Visa on Arrival scheme in India.


Tags: , , , , ,

Newsletter Powered By :